Limestone County was created by an act of the Alabama Territorial General Assembly on February 6, 1818. Formed from land comprising Elk County that was created on May 24, 1817. Limestone County is west of Madison County, north of the Tennessee River, and east of the western boundary line of range six, west of the basis meridian of the county. An act of the state General Assembly on November 27, 1821 gave to the county all of the land belonging to Lauderdale County, in the fork of the Tennessee and Elk Rivers, east of range six. Today Limestone County is bounded on the north by Giles County, Tennessee on the east, by Madison County, on the south by Morgan and Lawrence counties, and on the west by Lauderdale County.

The name of the county comes from the creek which flows through it, whose bed is of hard limestone. Athens was chosen as the county seat in 1819. Other towns of note are Belle Mina, Elkmont, Capshaw and Mooresville.

History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography, by Thomas McAdory Owen
(Chicago: S.J. Clarke Publishing Co., 1921)


Limestone County Coordinator: Jeff Kemp

ALGenWeb Asst. State Coordinator: Jeff Kemp

Lauderdale, Lawrence, Morgan, Madison Counties


All materials contained on these pages are furnished for the free use of those engaged in researching their family origins. Any commercial use or distribution, without the consent of the host/author of these pages is prohibited. All images used on these pages were obtained from sources permitting free distribution, or generated by the author, and are subject to the same restrictions/permissions. All persons contributing material for posting on these pages do so in recognition of their free, non-commercial distribution, and further, is responsible to assure that no copyright is violated by their submission.

Copyright (c) 2019 ALGenWeb, All rights reserved.