Houston County ALGenWeb  

Welcome to Houston County, Alabama  


1860 Judson Baptist Association Church Records

1860 tenth annual session:

Judson Baptist Association

held with Newton Baptist Association

From 1834-1950's the churches in southeastern  Alabama were under a few different associations. 
Judson, Newton, Sardis, Sandy Creek and others. Counties included in this listing are Barbour, Coffee, Dale and Henry.

Church         County          Pastors             Post office       Clerks           Post office
Abbeville      Henry        --------------         Abbeville        M.B. Green       Abbeville
Adoniram       Henry        A.L. Martin            Abbeville        G.T. Roberts     Abbeville
Antioch        Dale         W.B. Leo               Louisville       J. Pellum        Skipperville
Belah          Henry        S. Hargrove            Bay Spring       A. Peacock       Bay Spring
Camp Spring    Henry        S. Hargrove            Bay Spring       A. Hasty         Columbia
Clintonville   Coffee       W.M. Howell            Daleville        A. McGhee        Clintonville
Columbia       Henry        J.B. Taylor            Abbeville        N.F. Oakley      Columbia
Concord        Henry        S. Hargrove            Bay Spring       A.J. Kirkland    C. Bridge
Daleville      Dale         C. Smith               Daleville        L.D. Brooks      Daleville
Darlen         Dale         Z. Harris              Woodshop         B.D. Andrews     Westville
Ebenezer       Henry        -------------          --------------   W.W. Buie        ------------
Ebenezer       Dale         C. Smith               Daleville        J.M. Gutherie    Haw Ridge
El Bethel      Coffee       W.P. Bryan             Daleville        T.J. Dormany     Geneva
Haw Ridge      Dale         C. Smith               Daleville        J.C. Baton       Haw Ridge
Holly Spring   Dale         W.M. Howell            Daleville        David Sellers    High Bluff
Judson         Henry        E. Cody                Franklin         C.W. Thomas             ?
Mt.Pisgah      Dale         W.A. Cumbie            Skipperville     L. Deal          Echo
Mt. Moriah     Dale         D. Cumbie              Skipperville     D.W. Anderson    Newton
Newton         Dale         D. Cumbie              Skipperville     A.B. Vinson      Newton
Oaky Grove     Henry        A.L. Martin            Abbeville        S. Whiddon?      Abbeville
Oak Bower      Henry        M. Brooks              Elba             S.W.J. Ellis     Open Pond
Pleasant Grove  Henry       James Tew              Abbeville        E. Whiddon       Abbeville
Pleasant Ridge  Dale        D. Cumbie              Skipperville     N.R. Phelps      Skipperville
Providence     Dale        A.P. Bryan             Daleville        A .Martins       Daleville
Sardis         Henry        E. Cody                Franklin         E. Mayo          Abbeville
Shiloh         Barbour      D. Cumbie              Skipperville     L. Wilkerson     Clopton
Shorterville   Henry        C. Cody                Franklin         B.G. Fortsan?    Shorterville
Spring Creek   Dale         ----------------       ---------------  Wetherington     Geneva
Summer Hill    Dale         C. Smith               Daleville        W.W. Hilliard    Skipperville
Talbot         Henry        -------------          ------------     J. J. Satcher    Flag Pond
Union          Dale         W.M. Howell            Daleville        M.G. Matthews    Ozark

Transcribed and submitted  by: Carol