County Map

Baldwin County, Alabama

What's New! | FAQ | Calendar | Communities and Towns | Queries |   Research Resources | Searches | Home

ALGenWeb is part of the USGenWeb Project


   Search this site powered by FreeFind
Site search


Baldwin County was created by the Mississippi Territorial legislature on 1809 Dec. 21, from territory taken from Washington County. Its size was altered several times before 1868, when it received its present dimensions. Baldwin County lies in the southwestern part of the state. It is bounded on the north by Clarke and Monroe Counties, on the east by Escambia County, AL, and Escambia County, FL, on the west by Clarke, Washington, and Mobile counties, and Mobile Bay, and on the south by the Gulf of Mexico. It was named for Abraham Baldwin, a distinguished citizen of Georgia. MacIntosh Bluff, Blakeley, and Daphne each served for a time as county seat before 1901, when Bay Minette was so designated.  Other towns and communities include: Bon Secour, Elberta, Fairhope, Foley, Lillian, Loxley, Perdido Beach, Point Clear, Robertsdale, Summerdale, and Gulf Shores. (Owen, Thomas McAdory. History of Alabama and Dictionary of Alabama Biography. Chicago: S.J. Clarke Publishing Co., 1921)


Surrounding Counties

Clarke Conecuh Escambia (AL)
Escambia (FL)





In memory of..

visitors to this site since September 2002

This page last updated --- Saturday, 22-Nov-2014 02:18:01 EST


Send Comments about this Baldwin County site to Bill Childress

I do not live in Alabama so I am unable to help with your personal research questions.  Please explore this site, especially "Research Resources" section. If you don't find the information you're looking for here, you should join the email list and post your question on the query board. The more places you ask the question, the better your chances of getting an answer.

You can email me if you have any contributions you'd like to add to this site.

To volunteer for, or comment about ALGenWeb, contact
Ann Allen Geoghegan, State Coordinator or Jeff Kemp, Assistant State Coordinator.